Book Review: Knowing

Title: Knowingcover22727-medium
Author: Laurel Dewey
ISBN: 1611880491
Source: Advance copy from publisher via NetGalley
Release Date: December 4, 2012
Rating: 3 out of 5

Synopsis: After the life-altering ending in the third Jane Perry thriller, Revelations, Jane Perry takes time off from the job to find the missing part of herself she never knew existed. But her journey is quickly hijacked when a wanted criminal, Harlan Kipple, steals her car. Kipple—accused of the heinous murder of a prostitute in a seedy motel—is on the run and desperate to stay that way. Jane’s personal plans take a backseat as she tracks down her stolen ride and discovers through an unusual source that Kipple may be innocent and is being framed by a nefarious group. When she trails Kipple and confronts him, every belief she ever had about this world and the next is put to the test.

My Review:

I am a Jane Perry fan. I like this caffeine addicted police detective. She is hurt and damaged and has sprung back. She has funk and is tough as steel. I have read the previous books in this series and so I know what to expect in a Jane Perry novel.

However this book is completely different from the previous novels. It has a spiritual element but it’s not religious. I am fascinated and curious about the life after death concept and on that level this books really got to me. Knowing is about heart and mind, the spiritual connection and who do you listen to when you make a decision. The eerie dark element is interesting and it gripped me.

Most of the novel is about this connection that Jane feels with Kipple and other characters in the books. As for the mystery, I was a bit disappointed. I felt the book dragged a bit in the middle and I had hoped for a different ending. It was a bit of a let down. Having said that, I still love Jane Perry and would be picking up her next book when it comes.

2 responses to “Book Review: Knowing

  1. Psych Babbler January 5, 2013 at 8:03 am

    Hmm…I might look into the series. I like books with female detectives. That’s what drew me to Sue Grafton’s books.

    • Maddie January 6, 2013 at 9:35 am

      I haven’t read Sue Grafton. Will look into it. Give Jane Perry a read, hope you like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

