Learning with Coursera (join us!)

I found the Coursera site through a friend who had taken a course on it few months back. So I decided to take the plunge.

This website is brilliant really. It has courses on literature, music, culture, mathematics, science offered by places like John Hopkins, Princeton, Stanford, Edinburgh, Duke Georgia Tech. And the best part is, they are free!

I have enrolled for a course called “elearning and digital cultures” by the University of Edinburgh. The course hasn’t even started yet and we have a lot of interaction already taking place between us learners. I’m already learning a lot of new things. The forums, groups and blogs are super active with new threads of discussion being added everyday. To be honest, it’s a little difficult to keep up with all the information and I need to get more organised to keep a track of things to read – blogs, links, tweets and comments.

The course starts in January so anyone interested go take a look!

11 thoughts on “Learning with Coursera (join us!)

  1. Hi Maddie ,
    I’m Willa, I teach reading to third graders in a Special Ed setting. I would be interested in how you organize all your tweets, blogs and other info. Have you joined our facebook group? I tried to join the triberr but there were technical difficulties. I don’t have an i pad just this old computer that keeps reminding me that there’s high memory usage. I am trying to get used to all these platforms, The only things I used before signing up for E learning and digital cultures was email and facebook. I’m getting used to blogging. I’ll probably have more useful things to say once our class gets underway. Everyone that I’ve touched base with has been very helpful and that is reassuring as this is new territory for me.

    • Hello Willa,

      Thanks for connecting. If you have gone through my blog, you will know it’s mostly a personal blog. I don’t usually schedule my posts. As for tweets, I started tweeting more often after I joined this course. I use tweetcaster on my ipad and tweetdeck on the computer but it takes up a lot of space. It sure does get overwhelming to manage all these platforms 🙂

Leave a Reply

