An experience in compassion

Posted: July 1, 2012 in life
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday husband, kiddo and I went out with my parents. It’s their last couple of days here and we just wanted to go around the city. We first went to the farmer’s market near the castle. After visiting the stalls and buying a few things here and there, we settled down to chit-chat with a cup of coffee.

A few minutes later, a young girl came up with her accordion box and started playing. On the inside of her box it was written, “Playing back student loan”. She played for some time smiling and nodding at the tourists and people passing by. No one played much attention to her though some people smiled back.

Girl playing accordion to pay back student loan

Then came a woman with her little daughter. She stopped in front of this girl. For a couple of minutes she explained something to her daughter in soft words often pointing at the girl with the accordion. She then took out a few quid and asked her daughter to put them into the box.

I was so much arrested with this scene. That moment epitomised for me the very essence of compassion and empathy. I am sure after that conversation the little girl will be able to experience and feel for others who are having a hard time. She will be able to imagine what it would be like to be in that person’s shoes.

I know my son is too small to have understood what all this was about and I am sure there are others ways in which I could teach him compassion. This incident was another lesson in compassion and I was thrilled to experience it especially after just having read Zephyr’s post about it.

Comments
  1. daffodil says:

    Some random incidents like this which happens to pass by us leaves us with a greater meaning and understanding of others lives… Compassion, care, empathy for the fellow beings are supreme qualities to be imbibed to children right from the beginning…
    Very well written πŸ™‚

  2. Amit says:

    It is nice to see good people around you. I feel that they make the Earth rotate.

  3. techie2mom says:

    Wow, her mom taught her by example and not by preaching. This is the best way to impart any learning..And this is like a legacy, empathy for others passing on from mom to daughter…
    “I know my son is too small to have understood what all this was about and I am sure there are others ways in which I could teach him compassion” Kudos to you for thinking about this….

  4. Zephyr says:

    That is exactly what I am saying too Maddie. And the very fact that you even observed all that instead of just seeing a mother giving some money to the girl, makes you that much an aware parent. I am sure your son will grow up into a compassionate person. πŸ™‚

    And thanks for linking back πŸ™‚

  5. Vaish says:

    There’s so much one can learn from the street life isn’t it!

  6. My Era says:

    I am sure we all must have observed similar incidents on a number of occasions, but the wonderful way you’ve written about it, made me think of a number of things we often see but never take note of in our daily lives.
    A wonderful lesson taught to a child by example. It feels great to be around such nice people πŸ˜€

  7. chattywren says:

    Nice observation!

  8. Compassion can touch anyone’s heart. Its an innocent feeling, unadulterated with the worldly desires. Its pure and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

