Longing

Wistful

Wistful (Photo credit: Rich Renomeron)

One of my best friends and colleagues at my old firm got a promotion. I just received her mail. Happy as I am for her, I can’t help but feel a tinge sad for myself. I could have been in her position. Hell, we both would have been celebrating our promotions right now.

It’s not jealousy. I am truly happy for her. She is one of the best persons I know and I am very happy to have her in my life. I am also very content to be at home and watch my son grow. The individual inner self though who is not a wife, mother, daughter, daughter-in-law, is wistful. At the moment.

10 responses to “Longing

  1. Smita April 6, 2012 at 6:37 am

    I can understand what you are saying. There are days when I yearn to be at home with my Son specially on days when I hear that he has achieved some milestone….guess we can never have the best of both the worlds šŸ™‚

    • Maddie April 6, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Yeah and the tough part is not in deciding whether to work or stay at home, it is to carry through with whatever decision you make and be at peace with it.

  2. My Era April 11, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    I can totally understand where you are coming from, for I too am going to face this difficult puzzle soon when I’ll have to (I say, have to for I don’t have a choice in my current circumstances) leave my little daughter and join the workforce.
    Congratulations on your friend’s promotion šŸ™‚
    Thank you for following me on twitter and showing me way to your blog šŸ˜€

    • Maddie April 11, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      Welcome here Era! šŸ™‚

      It’s a tough choice for sure but continuing on the decision is even more challenging.

  3. Vaish April 16, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    Aww..honey! You will be alright! You can sure get the promotion and reach heights once you go back to working, but this is the best time (being with your son and watching him grow) which you can never get back after few years!

    • Maddie April 17, 2012 at 9:20 am

      Yea..I know šŸ™‚ it’s just that venting it out helps sometime šŸ™‚ And watching the kiddo grow is a treat!

  4. shaktii June 25, 2012 at 3:14 am

    i can understand your concern.. iam also at the point of my life where iam serving my notice period and sometime thinking about that brings tears to my eyes..what if i dont get the kind of job later when i want to work perhaps.. but i dont want to think anything at this moment..there is nobody here abroad to support us and thats the reason i took this decision.. eventhough we are matured in our decision when quitting some corner of the mind thinks about something which is totallt contradictory..

    • shaktii June 25, 2012 at 3:18 am

      please visit me at http://shaktii.wordpress.com/

    • Maddie June 26, 2012 at 3:39 pm

      Yes, I agree..but I believe you must have thought of everything before making this decision and from experience I can tell you it will bring you more joy to watch your kid grow šŸ™‚

      • shaktii June 27, 2012 at 2:53 am

        Hi Maddie,

        Glad to hear that.. thanks a lot..

Leave a Reply

