It’s a special day

… because my baby brother is officially 27! YAY!

I have to tell you that my brother is just awesome. He’s a million shades of hilarious, I adore him to bits even though he cracks sarcastic jokes about me in my presence, and he’s a great guy. If I called him right now and told him to bail me out of jail, he would do it without asking any questions. He may roll his eyes at me and give me that disconcerting smile of his but would be totally calm and would absolutely show up.

We’re besties for life and share a unique bond. Reading all this you might assume I am talking about my younger sibling, but no, I am talking about my cousin who is more closer than a sibling might have been.

And I’ve always been the boss of him, well for at least the first decade of my life, which was easy when we were quite young and I was bigger than him. When he had just learnt how to sit balanced on his bums, I would give him a slight push on his ribs which would knock him off balance banging his head on the floor. And yes, I did this only daily, maybe more than once a day.

But then providence! He’s much taller than me now and could absolutely beat me up if he wished to. However, I have been told of incedences where he almost smothered me during our games and plays, he was a chubby child you see with huge hands that were strong and plump.

He has been my pillar through some of the worst times of my life. He has never judged me for all the times I have been crazy and even though he might have thought that I am stupid, has never said it to my face. He has always just supported me even through he silence at times and for that I will always love him to bits.

I love that we have all kinds of awesome stories. I can just hang out with him and know that I’m going to laugh my ass off. I love how he boosts my morale without even realising it. I love how great he is to my kid. I love how he is a complete smart ass and can always find a way to piss someone off just by walking into a place. I love how he makes anything and everything funny by just a smile or a gesture. I love how smart, witty, sarcastic, funny, loving, kind and understanding he is. I love him. He’s the bestest brother in the whole wide world. And I’m the bestest sister ever. You want to know why? Because I give the best gifts. πŸ™‚

Why this post about you suddenly, you ask bro? Well because in a few days time, you are going to get married and then am going to have to officially share you with another woman, apart from your mom! I also want you to know that am going to stick my nose in your affairs as I have always done in the past. Be prepared, I’ll be looking at you from the microscope.

So happy birthday, Babbadi. I know you hate it when I call you that in public, but I have the right to embarrass you! You are awesome, I love you so much (stretching my hands as wide as I can)!

7 responses to “It’s a special day

  1. Himanshu November 4, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Thanks dido for the birthday wishes and also for all the over appreciation. I am really over-whelmed! There were quite a lot of surprising revelations to me in this blog…like boosting your morale and to piss someone off… I frankly don’t realize such stuff…

    True, I don’t judge you. Not because I am such a nice bro, but because my mom is at times more fond of you than me when I say a word against u! And when have I ever been sarcastic in my life? πŸ˜‰

    With great effort, even I would reciprocate the same feelings towards you… I too consider myself very lucky to have a sister (not cousin) like you! You have always been the perfect (yet typical) elder sister to me, protected me right from the time I was just a baby… and took care of me all the time. You have always fulfilled all my wishes in whichever possible way you could and made me happy… (including the wedding gift :D) And now when I see you with your kid in a mom’s role I am really amazed with the way you are bringing him up. Hats off to you, Supermom!

    Thanks once again sis. Come for the treat!
    Love you too! >:D<

    (Too long a comment, eh?)

    • Maddie December 21, 2011 at 3:37 pm

      Yeah bro! Supermom is quite a title, I don’t really believe I deserve that. But yeah I do try not to make him crazy like me πŸ™‚ And you know I love to read whatever you write, so no problem about your lengthy comment! πŸ™‚

  2. Comfy November 4, 2011 at 9:36 am

    How special is this bond? I have thid\s big smile on my face as I read this letter, what with it being so full of love.

    Wishing a very happy birthday to your brother. God bless both of you,

    • Maddie December 21, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      Thank you Comfy! Haven’t read most of your posts but eager to know more about Bugs and Buzz!! πŸ™‚

  3. Sabi December 7, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Sibling fights and bossing up r indeed one of the best memories I hav. And when I think of them feel laughing, such silly ones indeed. It blog took me in the past & I had some of mine refreshed as well

    • Maddie December 21, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Sabi, Glad my post reminded you of your past. Do share your memories too. Would love to read them! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: The blogging tag « Silent Thoughts

Leave a Reply

