Happy Birthday to me!

Posted: August 5, 2009 in birthday
Tags: , , , ,

Birthday Cake

A year gone..
A year gained..
A bit more wise..
Or so ought I to be..!

I got a year older! Life has come a full circle since am celebrating with my son. It is amazing how time flies. Life is so different and yet the same…bah! No time this to get philosophical, am not that old anyway!

So I had a blast on my birthday.

Apart from the many gifts that I received and shamelessly accepted, the best one was hubby staying over at my place on the eve of my birthday. He usually drops by on Sundays, to see the baby and I always challenged him that he would never stay over. I was obviously not expecting him to stay the night, since I thought that he thought that he gets a bit uncomfortable here at my parent’s….aahhh what a complicated thought and..sentence. Anyway, so he proved me wrong and I was so glad.

The first one to wish me was my MIL (mother-in-law) right at the stroke of 12 and that too she sang “Happy Birthday to you” what with the tune and all. Now what other daughter-in-law is so lucky to have such a MIL? And that too when is keeping a bit unwell…such enthusiasm and unadulterated love! Am blessed. Though she is an angel, my biggest complaint against her is that I don’t have any complaints against her! But that’s a topic for another post. I digress.

Then it was my FIL (father-in-law), who is not used to staying awake past midnight! Then my very dear hubby wished me and gave me this whole lot of assorted sweet little gifts. Mum and dad were excited and happy too that they got to celebrate with me here and also the baby!

Now here are the gifts…

Chicken Soup for the Coffee Lover's Soul

Life is too short for bad coffee!

Knowing what the coffee lover I am, my husband gifted me this Chicken Soup for the Coffee Lover’s soul. I just cannot wait to read these inspiring stories that take place over a cup of coffee!

As soon as coffee is in your stomach,
there is a general commotion.
Ideas begin to move…smiles arise, the paper is covered.
Coffee is your ally and writing ceases to be a struggle.
–Honore de Balzac

Roman Holiday

I have been meaning to watch this movie for ages. Ever since my dad told me that my heartthrob Dev Anand (yea that’s right Dev Anand! I live in yesteryears!) acts like Gregory Peck. And I had already fallen in love with Audrey Hepburn after watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s and My Fair Lady!

Now here is another one:

Gold Coin

Yea right, that’s a gold coin..since am like gold! πŸ˜€

This one was the best of them all..

Certificate

This is to certify that am the best and perfect wife! As per my knowledge, he hasn’t got anybody else to compare with me! Nevertheless, I am instructed to keep up to these standards if I wish to renev this certificate next year!

Being a true blue Gemini, my hubby never gave a hint as to what he had planned for my birthday and the birthday cake at the top of the post is what he got me in the evening. I am now getting accustomed to receiving such “sweet-nothings” type of gifts ever since hubby came into my life and loving every bit of it.

It is never about how much the gift cost but rather the love and thoughtfulness behind it.

Birthday Cake

This is the cake that my parents got me and I don’t mind putting on all these calories! πŸ˜€

I cannot fail to mention my sweetest boy. His gift to me was being born this year and that he slept blissfully through the night, giving me the best sleep ever! πŸ˜€

I terribly missed a few people, who mean the world to me, with whom I loved to celebrate my birthday. Though, distance and places don’t fade away relationships, they are a hindrance in creating good memories on special occasions!

Comments
  1. ppradhannmims says:

    Typical… Madhuraishtyle blog… awesome blossom…

    It’s always a sweet surprise that the people that we want are there on our birthdays….

    Thank you for updating on ur b’day…now it does not feel like we missed being der on ur b’day…

    See u soon…

    Cheers… Prats

  2. Smita says:

    wow!!!

    Wish you a very Happy birthday!!! and as is evident your better half has made it special πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

