The books I have read..

I have seriously taken up reading quite recently and I am proud to say that I have read 2 books in one month now and close to finishing the 3rd one.

The first was The General’s Daughter by Nelson DeMille. It is about a military investigation agent, Paul Brenner, who is put in charge of investigating the death of Ann Campbell, the daughter of a legendary general. This is a professional military woman who is found raped and murdered and a preliminary search turns up paraphernalia and sex toys that point to a scandal of major proportions. The investigating officer is reluctant to take the case when he learns that he is paired up with a woman with whom he had a tempestuous affair and an unpleasant parting. But duty calls and these two work together to reveal the dark secrets of this “golden girl” which involve several top level people who may have wanted her dead. Her murder is only the beginning. It is a fast paced novel and good for a one time read.General's Daughter

The next I read was The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. This one was recommended by Amit in his Best Eateries for bookworms. And I was not disappointed. You can read the entire book here.The Scarlet Letter

The third one that I am almost close to finishing is The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough. It was first published in 1977 and went on to become worldwide bestseller. It is a sweeping saga of dreams, titanic struggles, dark passions, and forbidden love in the Australian Outback.The story focuses on the Cleary family and spans the years 1915 to 1969. More about this later.The Thorn Birds

I will probably be writing a review on The Thorn Birds cause it has evoked a lot of conflicting feelings in my mind though I have enjoyed reading it thoroughly.

4 responses to “The books I have read..

  1. Smita August 3, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Read none of them 😦

    But will keep an eye for them & if I like them will pick them πŸ™‚

    • Maddie August 5, 2009 at 12:21 pm

      Sure do, though I wouldn’t highly recommend the first one. πŸ™‚

  2. Amit August 4, 2009 at 12:30 am

    I haven’t read the first one. Thanks for picking up my recommendation! πŸ™‚

    • Maddie August 5, 2009 at 12:20 pm

      Welcome haiji! I plan to read the others as well. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

