The divine smile

I am so amazed to find that my son has a distinct personality even at this little age. Grooming oneself comes later in life but everyone sure does come with some personality traits at birth. My son has a somewhat angry disposition – doesn’t like to be disturbed from his sleep even for a nappy change or for his feeds. Everything has to be as per his time table. He has a different cry for each of his needs and I am slowly catching up with them all. I thought it must be easy for each mother to instinctively understand her baby’s needs but I think it’s always a work in progress. Though he is a part of me, he is so…..different!

Quite recently he has started cooing, gurgling and smiling which are such smooth sounds for my ears. I watch him with utter fascination as if he is the first and only baby in the world to perform such histrionics! When he smiled for the first time, I was astonished that he could do such a thing and I hollered and gathered everyone in the house to witness this phenomenon. I really doubted that this would occur frequently and fancied this to be a one time thingΒ  like the total Solar eclipse. However, we are subjected to heavenly toothless grins for a few hours every single day, since he started; and we fuss and topple when he does it.

I cannot seem to get enough of his photos. I am so eager to share them with friends and upload them on Orkut and Facebook and here. But there’s a strict advice from husband and parents, in that order, to wait until the naming ceremony and then upload them. I wonder what the logic behind that is. But so be it. Currently am enjoying his playful antics and flexing and flaunting of muscles.

I wonder what makes babies so peaceful and happy with the world. I think it’s because their needs and wants are so simple and little. All they need is food, warm clothing, someone to play with and warm hugs and kisses before they sleep. They don’t know it but this is the best part of their lives but sadly they won’t recall it when they get older.

6 thoughts on “The divine smile

    • Yes…motherhood is making me mushy and sentimental, not that I wasn’t emotional before this. But now, every moment is a treasure and I don’t want to miss out on anything he does, no matter how silly it is. πŸ˜›

  1. its so amazing to have you in blog world..a new mom like me

    i felt as if i wrote this post….
    feel exactly same for my angel..the first smile..her expression for diff things…Motherhood is best in world πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

