Parables

You know how it is when you start working initially. Most of the work given to you is just data entry, typing, filing, indexing kind of work, or something similarly lame; which bears no resemblance to what degree you hold and the type of work that you should in fact, do. When I started my internship, I was given same boring type of work. I had indexed two huge files on my first day, which had titles, pages, numbers filled in haphazardly . Then I did data entry the next day. Most of my internship work was totally different from what I had learned in college, it was not even close.

During my last couple of weeks, my manager didn’t give me much work as I would be ending my time there and moving out. He didn’t want to keep anything half-done, naturally. But then he couldn’t have me sitting idle, doing nothing. He then gave me this book of hundred pages and asked me to type it out in Word so that it was easy for them to share it, since there was only one hard copy of it.

I was depressed. I wondered what my teachers would think during the viva and what would I show them when they asked me to display my work. But since it was work nevertheless, I began typing out the old book. I wondered what good would come out of it, since anyone could do that, why do they need an Instructional Designer to do suck menial work.

In the beginning, it was very boring and tedious to type. I would do it mechanically, without understanding what I was typing (if that is possible!). After a couple of pages, I understood that it was an old book of insightful stories and parables. I was intrigued. At least, I would be getting some moral lessons out of it, if nothing else. Eventually, I was hooked onto it. I used to read the complete story first and then type it out. I did read about ethics, proper behaviour, reasoning and being just.

The stories were about Mulla Nasruddin. Superficially they appear to be jokes or humours stories but the simple anecdotes and examples have a hidden moral thrust. The stories are not in lesson format with an aim to teach, rather they are a direct demonstration of the fact that was the subject of the story. I enjoyed typing that book which gave me an insight into the world of Nasruddin, illogical yet rational. (It also helped increase my typing speed 😀 )

5 thoughts on “Parables

  1. @Lekhni: Hi and welcome to my blog. Yes, they do get softwares and am sure these softwares were available even a couple of years back when I did my internship. I guess my boss just wanted me to be busy with something, so he gave me that sort of work. And this being my first job in the corporate world, I couldn’t refuse or resist it. 😦

  2. You made a good point that it’s difficult when you do something mechanically. I used to experience this too. When we had our english classes, everybody would borrow the homework from the one or two persons that had done it and would start copying it down without thinking. I could never do that. I would always read a sentence and then copy it down. I was slow but I think this helped when you had to write the answers in the examination because you had read it and it stays somewhere in your mind.

  3. @Amit: Yea, am optimistic when it comes to work. 🙂

    @Ish: It’s always better to understand and then write. No point in just copy-pasting. That way it helps recollecting later easier.

Leave a Reply

