The mask

I wear mask. A voice from deep within says am different, I know I am unique yet I crave to be ordinary. I wear a mask to be normal. I feel I am far superior or maybe inferior. People may perceive me to be arrogant, brash and selfish but it is their perception. I feel insecure and lonely. I wear a mask to feel acknowledged.

I don’t feel a sense of belonging and I wear a mask to escape. I cannot love you as I am self-obsessed and self-involved and I wear a mask to pretend. I feel a pain yet I do not empathise. I wear a mask of pretense. I want to be loved yet I am incapable of love. I wear a mask of compassion to hide the coldness within.

My behaviour is spiteful yet I do no intend to hurt. I wear a mask to suppress my anger. I live in the fear of rejection. I wear a mask of acceptance. I notice all the misgivings around. I wear a mask of indifference. I see what I want to see. I wear a mask of ignorance. Without this mask, I feel exposed. I wear a mask to hide my innocence.

I dare not shred this mask for fear of hurt and pain..

One response to “The mask

  1. Psych Babbler January 10, 2012 at 3:20 am

    We all wear a mask in public, don’t we? It’s to protect ourselves…and to show the world something we are not.

Leave a Reply

