Would you be friends with yourself?

As my routine, I was browsing through some of my favourite websites and blogs where I read the following question:

What you be friends with yourself?

Without a fraction of a second, my mind and heart unanimously answered, “Hell, No!”

Here are a few reasons why I would not be friends with myself:

1. I am blind to my own faults. I cannot stand someone who thinks he or she is perfect.

2. I don’t want my friends thinking they know me better than I know myself. I’m positive I’m as good a psychologist as anyone with formal training. I would want my friends to just listen to me sometimes and not provide unasked advice.

3. I suck at knowing what to do when my friends are sick or sobbing on the other end of the phone. I also suck at remembering birthdays. I want my birthday remembered and someone to know how to make the sobbing stop.

4. I cannot lie, so I don’t want to be with someone who would tell me that things are going to be worse than now. I don’t want anyone who would tell me the most bitter truth to my face.

5. I don’t want to be friends with anyone as funny as I am. I might be jealous.

6. I don’t have the gift of hospitality. I would be hurt if I never got invited to at my house.

7. I don’t like whiners who wash their dirty linen in public.

8. I don’t want to worry that my friends are going to write about me and post it on a Web site for all the world to see.

9. I know what goes on inside my head that never comes out of my mouth or gets typed on a keyboard. I don’t want friends that are crazy, neurotic or self-righteous.

10. I don’t want to be friends with people who are cowards and who get easily affected by circumstances and recoil after facing minor disappointments. I want to be friends with people who are original, genuine and who know themselves well.

I guess after reviewing this list, it’s not really another story after all as to why I have so few friends. However, to the friends I have, thank you for your tolerance. I’d be very lonely without you sharing your lives with me.

Leave a Reply

